NL Cy Young Award

While I don’t get an official Baseball Bloggers Association vote for the NL Cy Young award, that won’t stop me from giving my opinion. I think the top three are going to be the same on almost every BBWAA ballot (not mine though – I’m a rebel!), but the ordering is going to make a lot of difference.

Honorable mentions: Adam Wainwright (gasp! – 5.7 Wins Above Replacement), Chris Carpenter (double gasp! – 5.6 WAR), Josh Johnson (5.5 WAR), Ubaldo Jimenez (5.7 WAR)

3. Dan Haren (SP, ARI)

3.14 ERA, 229.1 IP, 223 K, 38 BB, 27 HR, 3.23 FIP, 3.95 tERA, 6.1 WAR

He was 3rd in the league in K’s, WAR, and expected FIP (3.16); 2nd in walk rate at just 1.5 BB/9; and 1st in K:BB ratio at 5.87. Since coming to Arizona he’s gone from being a 4-5 Win pitcher to a 6-6.5 Win pitcher. Too bad the D’Backs didn’t have their other Ace healthy this year.

2. Javier Vavquez (SP, ATL)

2.87 ERA, 219.1 IP, 238 K, 44 BB, 20 HR, 2.77 FIP, 3.38 tERA, 6.6 WAR

He was 2nd in the league in K’s, WAR, FIP, and K:BB ratio (5.41); and 1st in expected FIP at 2.87. Javvy quietly put together a career year after being traded from the White Sox to the Braves this past offseason.

1. Tim Lincecum (SP, SFG)

2.48 ERA, 225.1 IP, 261 K, 68 BB, 10 HR, 2.34 FIP, 2.60 tERA, 8.2 WAR

He was 2nd in ERA and expected FIP (2.94); 1st in K’s, FIP, WAR, complete games (4), shutouts (2), and K/9 (10.4). He was – by far – the most valuable pitcher in the NL this year, despite having a 15-6 record. Timmy probably won’t win the actual Cy Young – I’d guess Carpenter with his 2.24 ERA and 17-4 record (though his 2.78 FIP was 3rd, his innings total (192.2) hold him back) – but he still has a lot of time (hopefully) to expand his collection.